The ICL Prize was established in 1984 and is awarded during ICL conferences.

Traditionally, the Prize is awarded to single individuals for the studies of the luminescence properties of materials and their applications acknowledge by the International luninescence community.

The winner presents the talk at the closing session of the conference and receives a plaque citing his contribution to luminescence studies along with cash award (2000 USD). The Prize is sponsored by the Jounal of Luminescence published by Elsevier.

Guidelines for nominators:

Please sumbit a singlepage summary that describes the accomplishments of the candidate and why these accomplishments merit the ICL 2020 award. This summary will be used by the Prize Committee in making their selection. It would also be helpful if the candidate's vita could be supplied so that the Prize Committee is aware of the publications, patents, honors, awards and other information that you believe would be significant in making the selection. If a vita is not available, please provide as much information as you have.

Please send the nominations to Alexander Kaplyanskii (ICL Prize Committee chairman) before May 1, 2020.


Previous recipients
Prof. M. Shionoya (Tokyo) 1984
Dr. R.M. Macfarlane (IBM) 1987
Dr. A.A. Kaplyanskii (Ioffe) 1990
Dr. M.J. Weber (LLNL) 1993
Prof. D.S. McClure (Princeton) 1996
Prof. E.I. Rashba (Landau) 1999
Prof. G. Blasse (Utrecht) 2002
Prof. W.M. Yen (UGA) 2005
Dr. F. Auzel (CNRS) 2008
Prof. G. Boulon (Lyon) 2011
Prof. V.M. Agranovich (Troitsk) 2014
Prof. H.U. Guedel (Bern) 2017